AtlasCamp

This year’s AtlasCamp is fast approaching, and if you haven’t already registered, you’d better hurry up!

AtlasCamp isn’t a boring junket where you sit through endless PowerPoint presentations, it’s fast paced and hands on with lots of coding and technical sessions.

I was fortunate enough to attend last year’s AtlasCamp, and I found it to be a fantastic experience.  It was enlightening to hear from some of the top plugin developers in person about their thoughts and ideas for how they can make Atlassian’s already great products even better.

I learnt an awful lot in a short space of time, and came away with a greater appreciation for both the creativity of the developers and the extent to which Atlassian has opened up their products so that third party add ons can be easily integrated.

My main interest is in developing plugins for Bamboo, Fisheye and Crucible, and I fortunate enough to talk to both Edwin and Brendan from Atlassian, who gave me some great feedback on both some of the plugins I’ve written and also ideas I had for future plugins.

I think attending AtlasCamp would be valuable for non-developers too…if you’ve got a great idea for a plugin or new feature, come have a chat to one of the Atlassians at the Developer Office Hours.  They can let you know how feasible your idea is, and give you pointers on the best way to go about implementing it.

It’s also a terrific opportunity to find out what’s in store for Atlassian’s products in the future.

One of the main reasons that I’ve been developing plugins over the last couple of years is that it allows me to explore technology sets that otherwise I might not get to play with.  Being able to run ideas past both Atlassian and other plugin developers is a great way for me to get valuable advice and feedback.  Personally, I’m really looking forward to hearing about how I can develop plugins using Gadgets!  Plus I’ll get to hear how I did in this year’s Codegeist competition.

I found the event to be a great way to talk to the other Atlassians/plugin developers in person.  A lot of the communication I’ve had with people has been over email or IM, and it’s always nice to talk face to face!  There was a great sense of camaraderie from everyone there, and I’m really looking forward to seeing both old and new faces and hopefully learning a thing or two!

Leave a Reply

